Celebrating Me

I’m finally back to my old self. I feel happy inside and feel like I’m getting closer to achieving some of the things I need to.

The dinner that we organised on Saturday night was a success Alhumdulilah. Everyone seemed to have a great time.

The 13 year old who was staying with me has finally signed her contract to agree to rules and I registered her in school today and I was very proud that she herself chose an Islamic school. We still have a long way to go but t least now, the lines of communication are open and we are starting to make progress. Her mother is still causing us much grief with wanting to play parent without actually taking her daughter back, but hey what are you going to do.

There are heaps of different projects coming up and my dad’s sister and my cousin are coming to stay with us for a month which will be nice.

Next week Tuesday I turn 27, yes 27. I really don’t know where the time went and how 27 snuck up on me but it did. It annoys me when people tell me time is running out and that I’m so old and not married ( please read that with a whiny voice cos that’s the way they sound). I’m OK with being 27 and not being married. I don’t want to get married because it’s that time. I would only get married if there was someone spectacular that got my interest.When I say spectacular, I mean just spectacular for me. Someone who I get and who gets me and we think we can tolerate waking up to each other every morning forever. That’s a pretty big ask actually. I’m not even convinced yet that I have it in me to spend so long with someone but we’ll see when that time comes.

For the moment, I’m going to be 27 and I really wanted this birthday to be one of those that you remember forever. I don’t want to go crazy partying all night or anything but i just wanted it to be amazing. I had a think about how that was possible, how was I going to make 27 a big birthday. It got me thinking about what I was celebrating, I realised that I was celebrating me.

I look back at my life, where I’ve come from and how I’ve changed over the years and I see how much I’ve grown as a person and I realise that I have alot to celebrate at 27. I realise that my list of achievements aren’t so bad and I’m grateful for the opportunities that I’ve been given. These realisations only make me look forward to where I want to be, to who I want to become and what I want to achieve.

The road ahead is long and even if it isn’t, it’s filled with opportunities and filled with hope and love and friendship and family and right now, I can’t ask for more than that.

So here’s to me, proof age aint nothing but a number 😀

Haha, Forever Young is playing right now in the shopping centre.

4 thoughts on “Celebrating Me

  1. yay you back 🙂
    bday next week getting old and what not 🙂
    but never days lol
    we too young at heart
    and marriage can wait till we good and ready hehehe

  2. hey there…

    first thing that got my attention was the title of this post..
    im a feb gal too.. thursday is the day.. and yes, feb comes with its share of reflections; its a kinda stock-taking month (i mean the birthday thing not the financial year end thing)

    hmm.. and of course, its celebratory…
    because each year brings with it another twelves months of blessings to be glad for… they show their faces at the most unlikely times -and some of the more likely too- and im supercharged for every new ka-ching on the chart of age cos at some point, i might just be edging upward on the maturity scale…

    i figure when i do get married, it will be that ultimate expression of a progressive maturity… alongside someone who thinks in similar light 😛

    many happy returns to you, fellow aqua gal.
    heres to awesomeness eternal

    s

Leave a Reply

