Beyond Understanding

Once you were my best friend…Now that friendship feels empty

Once you were my support…Now it feels unreliable

Once you were my happiness…Now if feels like nothing

Once you were my love…Now my heart is empty

When the relationships we have mean the world to us, how do we ever recover when they change. How do we go back?

It’s sometimes easier to forgive and get over the hurt caused by people we don’t care about than those that we love. It seems so much harder for me to forgive those people that are the closest to me. Is it that way for you? Or is it just me?

I feel like if I’ve invested my love in you then I expect more from you and maybe thats an unfair expectation. Maybe I need to see that this other person is just a person also and all people mess up sometimes or do things we don’t like. Maybe I need to realise that perhaps they overlook what I do and they forgive me my trangressions and the hurt I cause them because they love me. Maybe…

3 thoughts on “Beyond Understanding

  1. Hi

    I so feel this post, we do expect better from those we love and I think what hurts most is , there are those moments you need to lean on them and they aren’t there. Even then we’d rather make up an excuse for them than believe the worst of them.

    Why make people a priority in your live, when you’re only an option in theirs?

  2. I don’t want to be the kind of person who behaves in that way. I want to be a good friend, sister and partner. I want to be the kind of person they can rely on and so in turn I judge them by that. I don’t want them to feel let down by me.

    I understand that relationships of any kind are a give and take and that scale is not always perfectly balanced but I think that over time for the relationship to be sustained it needs to come pretty close to balanced.

    Why make people a priority in your live, when you’re only an option in theirs?- I love that 🙂

  3. It’s sometimes easier to forgive and get over the hurt caused by people we don’t care about than those that we love. It seems so much harder for me to forgive those people that are the closest to me. IT SO IS HARD AND YES I FORGIVE BUT FORGET? HOW CAN I? I HAVE TO HAVE A BRAIN WASH WITH A HEART WASH TO GET IT OVER WITH…
    or else NO LUCK!

    absolutely no wayyyyy !!

Leave a Reply

